Friday, March 28, 2014

Jack Delaney: Music and Hope


Jack Delaney



Director of Bands and Professor of Music

Jack Delaney is Director of Bands and Professor of Music at the Meadows School of the Arts of Southern Methodist University, where he conducts the Meadows Wind Ensemble and teaches courses in conducting and wind literature. Under his guidance, the Meadows Wind Ensemble has established itself as one of the leading ensembles of its kind, as evidenced by performances at significant regional, national and international music festivals and conferences throughout the United States and Europe.
Delaney has conducted professional and student ensembles throughout Israel, Europe, South America and the United States, including performances with the New World Symphony Orchestra and the Dallas Wind Symphony, as well as performances in Boston’s Symphony Hall, New York’s Town Hall and the Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas.
In addition, Delaney has commissioned over 50 major works by leading composers, a partial listing of which includes Augusta Read Thomas, Samuel Adler, Stephen Paulus, Eric Ewazen, Warren Benson, Stephen Jones, Akira Miyoshi, John Mackey, Bob Mintzer, Cindy McTee, David Sargent, Simon Sargon, Charles Rochester Young, John Gibson, Eric Stokes, Kevin Hanlon, Robert Frank, John Michael Davis, Elaine Ross and Vicente Moncho. Delaney has collaborated with a number of choreographers to create, and in some instances recreate, original works for dancers, wind ensembles and chamber orchestras. These commissions include works to accompany the music of Norman Dello Joio, Stephen Montague, Joseph Schwantner, Igor Stravinsky and Carlos Surinach.
The recipient of numerous awards and distinctions, Delaney has been awarded the Algur H. Meadows Distinguished Teaching Professorship at the Meadows School of the Arts and the Achievement in Music Award from the Ohio University School of Music, and was honored by the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music at the first-ever alumni concert by the Cincinnati Wind Symphony.

1 comment: